Cycle of A Horse Keeping Life

Did you ever think about how the cycle of a horse keeping life makes us appreciate certain things at certain times?

In the winter the one thing I long for is the end of those cold biting winds.

In the spring I greet the warmer days with joy, but when the flies come out I actually start to wish for a breezy day of at least 15 mph.

Summer arrives with green grass and showers but as the mowing takes up more and more of my time and there is serious mud, I decide that a dry spell would not be unwelcome.

As summer deepens and things begin to get painfully dry and brown in late July, I begin to hope for the thunderstorms of August.

Fall is my favorite season with crisp days for riding, changing trees with their bright colors and the advent of Thanksgiving. I live in the present, looking neither forward nor backward!

As fall fades and the landscape gets dull, snow cover, even though it heralds cold temps, seems like it would not be so bad after all

About Pathfinder Pursuits

Camille is a licensed clinical social worker and writer. She is the author of the Quincy the Horse children's books.
This entry was posted in Horse Life in Particular and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycle of A Horse Keeping Life

  1. lrtrovi says:

    This cycle of a horse-keeping life really resonates with me…I find myself longing for summer while I’m breaking ice in their buckets, then cursing the blazing sun beating down on the arena in the summer, swatting flies and wishing for a fall breath of cool air. Why aren’t we ever satisfied with where we are in the moment? 🙂

Comment

