Chickens, Pumpkins and Sustainability

My chickens are starting their first winter and I can tell they feel like their chicken barnyard is pretty picked over. They loved having daily rations of swiss chard and lettuce from the fall veggies as well as the delicacy of overripe peaches from a local orchard, but those are now finished.

I decided it was time to get creative. I am big on sustainability which means using what you have and I happen to love pumpkin; so I collected pumpkins from my Halloween displays and those of my friends. Sure enough, CHICKENS LOVE PUMPKIN. I found that carving the pumpkins into big chunks and baking them a bit makes them even more of a hit.

Chicks Pumpkin 1The chickens seem excited to get with the program. I love this picture so much I decided to make it into a Caption Contest on our Quincy the Horse Facebook Page. Feel free to visit and enter the contest. A set of Quincy the Horse books would make a great Christmas gift for the young readers in your life.

www.facebook.com/QuincytheHorse

About Pathfinder Pursuits

Camille is a licensed clinical social worker and writer. She is the author of the Quincy the Horse children's books.
This entry was posted in Organic Lifestyle, Quincy the Horse Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

