Tales From the Trenches of Book Promotion

I usually keep a positive bent but I have to admit I feel stretched this week.  I won’t mention the event by name but I have to say it feels like a nightmare where you just cannot wake up.

20131204_093704Fellow road warriors on the book promotion trail may relate. It all started when I got the idea of doing one big Christmas event rather than the weekly holiday bazaar book signings I did last year throughout the holiday season.  I hoped if I did  one big event with volume,  I could get “eventing” over in the first week of December and have more time for the holidays.

It sounded like a good concept at the time, but how wrong I may have been! This is a report from the second day……

Imagine an event where the parking lot is so full that you have to arrive an hour early to avoid huge traffic jams.

Imagine an event that is so large it includes 3 city blocks of multiple display halls and the Ladies Room is so far away from your booth that you feel like a terrified child who will not find your way back home.

Imagine an event where there are more shoppers than you have ever seen at all the events you have ever attended except BEA, but you are an author of kid’s horse books and relatively few seem interested in horses or books.

I won’t give up yet. Friday and the weekend are still ahead. Maybe volume will win out in the end. At least I know that whatever happens, Monday I will stay home, put up my feet and write promotional materials for my new book, Quincy and Buck.

About Pathfinder Pursuits

Camille is a licensed clinical social worker and writer. She is the author of the Quincy the Horse children's books.
This entry was posted in Publishing, Quincy the Horse Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

