Organic Horse Keeping: Night Pastures

It has been so hot and humid here at Pathfinder Farm that I am turning the horses out at night. Of course as soon as I decided to do this, we have had lots of early am thunderstorms. Our best pasture does not have a shelter, so I have been up at midnight several times bringing the boys back in to the barn.

fireflies 2

I have been awestruck by the pastures at night. It is another world. A bit of a breeze comes up even at the steamiest temps. There are lightening bugs everywhere making for a magical feeling. Last night when I went to get the horses, the predicted storms had missed us. It was clear and cooler and the sky was full of my favorite constellations.

Walking out there in dew soaked grass up to my knees with the breeze flowing over me, I felt the stress of my day literally blowing away. By the time I got them all in, I no longer cared about my fight with Comcast over the cable bill.

Horse people know the saying “A good day to be a horse.” I now have a new saying, “A great night to be a horse keeper.”

About Pathfinder Pursuits

Camille is a licensed clinical social worker and writer. She is the author of the Quincy the Horse children's books.
This entry was posted in Horse Life in Particular and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

