Binge Reading

Binge television is all the rage now days but what about binge reading. I have been on quite a binge read lately with the topic being Theodore Roosevelt. It all started when I got The Bully Pulpit by Doris Kearns Goodwin as an audio book. It has 30 CDs. I listened to it over two long car journeys and all the time in between the trips when I was going back and forth to town. I truly entered that era of history and TR became part of my world. When it was over, I could not let him go.
I have now researched other biographies and discovered Mornings on Horseback by David McCullough which is about his family and formative years and experiences. I found this in paperback. I also discovered a trilogy biography by Edmund Morris with 3 books. I have events in KY and Illinois in July and August so am glad to see that the three book set comes in CDs.
I have always been a fan of FDR and Eleanor Roosevelt but I realized while reading The Bully Pulpit that I did not really know as much about Theodore. So many things about his personality and his life fascinate me. One thing I had not realized was how important the West and his time in the West was to him. Given my years in New Mexico, I feel a kinship with this. I have read many of David McCullough’s biographies but did not know about Mornings on Horseback which won the National Book Award in 1981.
I am not sure whether anyone will share this entire reading binge with me, but I highly recommend The Bully Pulpit. Delores Kearns Goodwin does a brilliant job of exploring the way the problems with monopolies then are the same as those we face today. She describes in detail how John D. Rockefeller built his monopoly by buying off the railroads and using his control of transport to prevent other oil suppliers from getting their oil to market. It is exactly what many fear Comcast will do with the control of internet traffic that would be possible if the Comcast/ Times Warner merger goes through. And, as binges go, this is just as engrossing as the weekend I streamed both seasons of House of Cards!

20140628-153444-56084425.jpg

About Pathfinder Pursuits

Camille is a licensed clinical social worker and writer. She is the author of the Quincy the Horse children's books.
This entry was posted in Life in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

